ACCUEIL > DISCOVERY > History

History

Drawing 1604

From the Voconces to the black plague


 
The story begins when the glacier recedes, freeing the country it had carved and offering new land that man slowly controlled four or five millennia ago. These early humans left their marks : axes, tools, jewelry. They lived in caves and rock shelters. They were Ligurians, later mixed with Celts and they will, when everything became organized, be called Voconces and construct an oppidum.


 
Then Rome rises and Augustus enslaved, around 25 BC all the tribes of the Alps and entered their names and his victories on the trophies of Suse and La Turbie (colossal monuments). The Pax Romana was established for five centuries; the Voconces town becomes Segustero, and an autonomous municipality, grows and watches over its canyon and on the road of the sun and Spain whose name was then Via Domitia.

 

In 476, the Western Roman Empire succumbs under the blows of barbarians and Segustero falls into the hands of different successive conquerors.
The town, as well as the Provence, undergoes all assaults. Lombards, Saxons, Alemans rush into the territory jockeying for ephemeral powers. We may not really speak here of the Saracens, who have never organized a constituted power nor a sustainable occupation but their raids marked the Provence until 974 when William the first (Guillaume 1er) defeats them in the battle of Fraxinet and with this victory reunited the County of Provence and ruled it.

 

 - 1054 Forcalquier once set up as a County after a series of inheritances was sharply disputed. Due to its position Sisteron became the stronghold of thenew state and got a new northern border when the counties of Gap and Embrun through weddings passed in the hands of the Viennese dauphins.

 

-1209, Forcalquier, and Sisteron return to Provence, where the Aragonese reigned. Sisteron is more than ever the gate of the County and thanks to its mighty castle even its protection, against turbulent Dauphins.

 

-1238, Beatrice, daughter of the last Aragonese Count Raymond Berenger V inherited the Provence. Sisteron now lived according to the rhythm of the Provençal state whose rulers opted for the kingdom of Naples and Sicily or for more illusory possessions.
 


Martin's painting

The County of Provence and the religion wars

 

-1054, Forcalquier once set up as a County after a series of inheritances was sharply disputed.  Due to its position Sisteron became the stronghold of the new state and got a new northern border when the counties of Gap and Embrun through weddings passed in the hands of the Viennese dauphins.


 

-1209, Forcalquier, and Sisteron return to Provence, where the Aragonese reigned. Sisteron is more than ever the gate of the County and thanks to its mighty castle even its protection, against turbulent Dauphins.


 

-1350-1370, for better facing the incursions of armed bands that surged back from France according to the Anglo-French truce, the city continues to strengthen its defenses. Towers, doors, and new walls were erected.

 


-1408, Louis II visits his "beloved" city.

 


-1445, the district of la Baume is connected to the town.

 


-1483, the annexation of Provence is completed, not without struggle. However, Sisteron lost no military strength and continued to guard the busy road that carries military vehicle, people and business.

 


  -1516, Francis I. crowned with the glory of the battle of Marignano met his mother, his wife and his sister on January the 13th in Sisteron. It took three days of festivities to celebrate this family meeting and the victory.

 

 -1562, beginning of the religion wars. They will deeply hurt the town which is a stake for all parties.  Protestants, Catholics, leaguers, carcists are going to fight for forty years. Two sieges ruin it. Churches, convents, in or out of the walls, suffer or are destroyed, the suburbs razed to the ground, the Citadel is not spared. Henri IV
finally imposed peace. The citadel is reinforced, renewed, the city raised its ruins and a new urbanism is established. That is the one that still shapes the old town.


 

-1631, the plague hits the Haute-Provence. Sisteron is affected by the "evil that spreads terror." Chapels and paintings, fruit of every one’s resolution, date back to this period and are here and there dedicated to St. Roch.


 

-1638, Prince John Casimir Vasa is imprisoned in the Citadel. He will ascend to the throne of Poland in 1648.

 

 


The Dauphiné Gate

The Revolution and the World Wars


 
During the 17th and 18th centuries the town was prosperous, noble houses were built on the squares and streets where business was flourishing, between the high and low  farmer neighborhoods of Coste and Bourg Reynaud.


- 1789: Revolution. The diocese is deleted, the convents closed.

 

Events and regime changes of the 19th century did not noticeably mark Sisteron. One’s live from one’s work within a large family where everyone knows each other.    In 1862 the phylloxera killed the vineyard that will not be replanted and thereby deny the “urban peasant” painted by Paul Arène.


 

-1868, The railway arrived in Sisteron, cursed by some, hope for others.


 
 
-1914-1918, the Citadel far from any military operation becomes a German prisoners’ camp. It imprisons, among others in 1917, the crew of the airship that fell down around Mison.
 

 

-1939-1945, The Citadel is a prison again. In July 1944, in a bold and well-managed operation, the Resistance managed to releases its prisoners. On August 15 and 17 Sisteron suffered a bombardment by the Anglo-American aviation that destroyed a part of the town and killed more than 300 people. The American troops of the 45th division that had landed on the Var coast freed it on August 22, 1944.
 
 
Since that time Sisteron has healed its wounds, raised its houses, and organized a new urbanism plan. Successive municipalities have transformed a wounded town into a prosperous flowery, serene, bright city, glad today to welcome you
.



EVENTS

Du


Au


 

 

    |        |    ©2017    |    Contact    |    Powered by Galets Bleus Web   |

Home

ACCUEIL > DÉCOUVRIR > Histoire du territoire

Histoire du territoire

Dessin 1604

Des Voconces à la peste noire...

 

Et l'histoire commence quand le glacier se retire, libère le pays qu'il a construit et livre des terres nouvelles que les hommes ont lentement asservies il y a quatre ou cinq millénaires. Ces premiers hommes ont laissé des traces: haches, outils, bijoux. Ils habitaient grottes et abris. C'étaient des Ligures, plus tard mêlés de Celtes et ils vont, quand tout s'ordonne, s'appeler Voconces et élever un oppidum.
 
 
Puis, Rome se dresse et Auguste asservit, vers 25 avant J.-C. toutes les peuplades des Alpes et inscrit leurs noms et sa victoire sur les trophées de Suse et de la Turbie.. L'ordre romain s'installe pour cinq siècles.. La cité des Voconces devient Segustero, reçoit un municipe, grandit et veille sur le défilé, sur la route du soleil et de l'Espagne qui a nom désormais Voie Domitienne.
 
 
En 476, l'Empire romain d'occident disparaît sous les coups des barbares et Segustero passe aux mains des conquérants qui se succèdent..
La ville, comme la Provence, subit tous les assauts. Lombards, Saxons, Alamans déferlent dans le chassé-croisé d'éphémères pouvoirs.
On ne saurait taire ici les Sarrasins qui n'ont jamais constitué un pouvoir et une occupation durable mais leurs razzias ont marqué la Provence jusqu'en 974 où Guillaume 1er les écrasant au Fraxinet, mérite de fonder le Comté de Provence.
 
 
-1054, Forcalquier érigé en Comté s'en détache à la faveur de successions. Sisteron doit à sa position d'être la place forte du nouvel état et bientôt sa frontière nord quand les comtés de Gap et d'Embrun passent par mariage aux dauphins de Viennois.
 
 
-1209, Forcalquier et Sisteron retournent à la Provence où règnent les Aragons. Sisteron est plus que jamais la Porte du Comté et, avec son puissant château, sa couverture face aux turbulents Dauphins.
 
 
-1238, Béatrix, fille du dernier comte aragonais Raymond Béranger V, reçoit la Provence en partage. Sisteron désormais va vivre au rythme de l'état provençal dont les souverains se tournent vers le royaume de Naples et de Sicile ou vers de plus illusoires possessions.
 
 
-1348, la peste noire décime l'Europe, frappe Sisteron qui perd les deux tiers de ses habitants.
 

Peinture de Martin

Le Comté de Provence et les guerres de religion

 
-1054, Forcalquier érigé en Comté s'en détache à la faveur de successions. Sisteron doit à sa position d'être la place forte du nouvel état et bientôt sa frontière nord quand les comtés de Gap et d'Embrun passent par mariage aux dauphins de Viennois.
 
 
-1209, Forcalquier et Sisteron retournent à la Provence où règnent les Aragons. Sisteron est plus que jamais la Porte du Comté et, avec son puissant château, sa couverture face aux turbulents Dauphins.
 
 
En 1350-1370, face aux incursions des bandes armées refluant de France à la faveur des trêves franco-anglaises, la ville ne cesse de renforcer ses défenses. Tours, portes, remparts nouveaux se dressent.
 
 
-1408, Louis Il visite sa " bien-aimée" cité.
 
 
-1445, la faubourg de la Baume est réuni à la ville. 
 
-1483, le rattachement de la Provence est consommé, non sans heurts. Pour autant, Sisteron ne perd rien de sa valeur militaire et continue sa garde sur la route passante qui véhicule soldats, gens et affaires.
 
 
-1516, François ler le 13 janvier, auréolé de la gloire de Marignan retrouve à Sisteron sa mère, son épouse, sa soeur. Trois jours de fête célèbrent retrouvailles et victoire..
 
 
-1562, les Guerres de Religion s'allument. Elles vont meurtrir la ville, enjeu des partis: protestants, catholiques, ligueurs, carcistes vont quarante années durant se la disputer. Deux sièges la ruinent. Églises, couvents, hors ou dans les murs, souffrent ou sont détruits, les faubourgs rasés, la Citadelle n'est pas épargnée. Henri IV
impose enfin la paix. La Citadelle est confortée, renouvelée, la ville relève ses ruines et un nouvel urbanisme est mis en place. C'est celui présent encore, qui a façonné la vieille ville.
 
 
-1631, la peste frappe la Haute-Provence. Sisteron est touché par le" mal qui répand la terreur ". De cette époque datent les chapelles et les tableaux, fruits des veux de tous, dédiés ici et là à Saint-Roch.
 
 
-1638, le Prince Jean-Casimir Vasa est enfermé dans la Citadelle. Il montera sur le trône de Pologne en 1648.

La Porte du Dauphiné

La Révolution et les conflits mondiaux

 
Au XVIIème et XVIIIème siècles la cité est prospère, de nobles demeures s'élèvent sur les places et dans les rues où se nouent les affaires, entre les quartiers paysans,haut et bas, de la Coste et de Bourg Reynaud.
- 1789, la Révolution, l'évêché est supprimé, les couvents fermés. Les évènements, les changements de régime du XIXème siècle ne marquent pas sensiblement Sisteron. On y vit de son travail au sein d'une grande famille où chacun se connaît. Le phylloxéra en 1862 tue le vignoble sisteronais qui ne sera pas replanté et par-là condamne le paysan citadin qu'a peint Paul Arène.
 
 
-1868, le chemin de fer arrive à Sisteron, maudit par les uns, espoir des autres.
 
 
-1914-1918, la Citadelle loin de toute opération militaire devient un camp de prisonniers allemands. On y enferme, entre autres en 1917, l'équipage du dirigeable tombé à Mison.
 
 
-1939-1945, la Citadelle est de nouveau une prison. En juillet 1944, au cours d'une opération hardie et bien conduite, la Résistance libère ses prisonniers. Le 15 août, puis le 17 août Sisteron subit un bombardement par l'aviation anglo-américaine qui détruisit une partie de la ville et fit plus de 300 victimes. Les troupes américaines de la 45ème Division, débarquées sur les côtes du Var, la libèrent le 22 août 1944.
 
 
Depuis, Sisteron a pansé ses blessures, relevé ses maisons, tracé un nouvel urbanisme. Les municipalités successives ont fait d'une ville meurtrie une cité prospère, fleurie, sereine, lumineuse, heureuse aujourd'hui de vous accueillir.

 

Plaquette complète sur Sisteron et le Pays sisteronais PDF 3.85Mo



FESTIVITÉS

Du


Au


 

 

Mentions légales    |    crédits photos    |    ©2017    |    Contact    |    Réalisation Galets Bleus Web   |